> News > CITC Coca Cola Tournament > Four Schools Champs in Coca Cola Tournament

Four Schools Champs in Coca Cola Tournament

The CIFA Matavera Football Complex was a sea of school colours amongst the humid conditions where around three hundred primary school students, teachers, parents and supporters flocked to the Cook Islands Football Association (CIFA) Matavera complex on Wednesday.
“The day’s event went really well and we are pleased to see the students, parents and teachers support the CITC Coca-Cola Primary Schools One day Football Tournament.” says Tahiri Elikana.
A victorious Avarua B Boy’s team retained the champion’s trophy for 2014 and were once again crowned champions in their division. Avarua B Boy’s got things underway in quick fashion using their speed, goal scoring and dribbling skills to their advantage.
Triumphant Nikao B Girls team claimed victory as the champions in their division for the 2014. Nikao went head to head with Papaaroa in the final match securing their first placing.
In the B Boys category Avarua took top honours while Avatea took second place and Papaaroa snatched third place ahead of Takitumu.
In the B Girls division Papaaroa took out second place while Avarua placed third after defeating Avatea.
St Joseph once again secured the B Mixed division title in a close game with Rutaki. St Joseph has reigned as the B Mixed division champions now for five years in a row. Rutaki came prepared to win and took out second place and Takitumu third place.
In the C Mixed division, Avatea were the 2014 winners against a strong team from Rutaki and third place went to Avarua.
CIFA Development Officer Tahiri Elikana, CIFA Referee Development Officer Lai Gukisuva, CIFA General Secretary Mii Piri and CITC Coca-Cola Key Brands Manager George George presented the trophies after the final games with the students cheering on as their schools claimed honors for the 2014 CITC Coca-Cola Primary School One Day Football Tournament.
The Cook Islands Football Association would like to thank CITC Coca-Cola for their support for this event and all the schools, students, parents and teachers for the continuous participation. See you all again next year.
Results from Wednesday’s One Day Tournament are as follows:
B Boys:
1st Avarua, 2nd Avatea, 3rd Papaaroa
B Girls:
1st Nikao, 2nd Papaaroa, 3rd Avarua
B Mixed:
1st St Joseph, 2nd Rutaki, 3rd Takitumu
C Mixed:
1st Avatea, 2nd Rutaki, 3rd Avarua