Avarua and Arorangi Champs

The action filled finals had the crowds cheering their teams and showing their school pride. Supporters were not disappointed as the schools battled it out in what was an action packed finals on Wednesday March 26th.
Avarua girls controlled skills overwhelmed Avatea with a score of two goals to nil. In the first minute of the game, Avarua scored their first goal. Avatea’s defense worked hard throughout the rest of the game but were unable to stop the overpowering Avarua Girls as they scored again in the second half and secured their championship.
The game ended with a deafening cheer from the crowd of supporters, parents, colleagues, teachers and community who took time out to support the schools.
In the exciting boy’s division final, Arorangi and Avarua were evenly matched. The vocal support on both sides of the field created a thrilling match as both teams upped their game and battled it out till the end with a nil all score. This meant a shoot-out would take place to determine the champion.
All the schools teams and supporter surrounded the field to watch and cheered as Arorangi went head to head with Avarua. Arorangi overcame Avarua with a score of three to one claiming the championship title for 2014.
In the other matches in the boy’s division, Avatea took out third place winning over fourth place Nikao by four goals to nil, fifth place Nukutere defeated Titikaveka by two goals to one, seventh placing Te Uki Ou beat Papaaroa four to three.
In the thrilling girls division, Nikao beat Arorangi six to four claiming third place in a penalty shoot-out, fifth place Titikaveka beat Nukutere in a penalty shoot-out of five to three and seventh place Papaaroa beat Te Uki Ou with a score of two to one.
The Cook Islands Football Association technical staff are thrilled with the competition and the improvement of the players since the kick off of the tournament five weeks ago.
“The level of development has surpassed our expectations this year and we are looking forward to next year’s competition”, says Tahiri Elikana.
Cook Islands Football Association would like to congratulate all the schools who have participated in this year’s championship.
Congratulations to 2014 champions Avarua and Arorangi school.
CIFA also appreciates all the many supporters who took the time to come and cheer their schools with school spirit and pride.
Results for the 2014 Senior Primary School Championship:
Girl’s division:
1st Avarua (Avarua 2 – Avatea 0)
2nd Avatea (Avatea 0 – Avarua 2)
3rd Nikao (Nikao 6 – Arorangi 4 – PSO)
4th Arorangi (Arorangi 4 – Nikao 6 – PSO)
5th Titikaveka (Titikaveka 5 – Nukutere 3 – PSO)
6th Nukutere (Nukutere 3– Titikaveka 5 – PSO)
7th Papaaroa (Papaaroa 2 – Te Uki Ou 1)
8th Te Uki Ou (Te Uki Ou 1– Papaaroa 2)
Boy’s division:
1st Arorangi (Arorangi 3 – Avarua 1 – PSO)
2nd Avarua (Avarua 1 – Arorangi 3 – PSO)
3rd Avatea (Avatea 4 – Nikao 0)
4th Nikao (Nikao 0 –Avatea 4)
5th Nukutere (Nukutere 2 – Titikaveka 1)
6th Titikaveka (Titikaveka 1 – Nukutere 2)
7th Te Uki Ou (Te Uki Ou 4 – Papaaroa 3)
8th Papaaroa (Papaaroa 3 – Te Uki Ou 4)

Related posts