Primary Schools take centre stage

The Rarotonga Primary School teams battling it out for the 2012 honor will be Papaaroa, Te Uki Ou, Avarua, Takitumu, Avatea, Imanuela Akatemia, St Joseph, Rutaki, Arorangi and Nikao. All Primary Schools have put together a boys, girls and mixed teams to battle it out on the pitch while showcasing their ball skills against each other.
“This year CIFA is very happy to have the support of local business CITC Coca-Cola,” says Tony Jamieson, Technical Director for Cook Islands Football.
“We know that CITC Coca-Cola will assist in making this year’s football tournament a great success.”
“This is a great opportunity for our young football players to compete against each other playing the beautiful game.”
Winning schools of last year’s tournament, Avatea in the boys B grade, Avarua in the B girls division, second time champs St Joseph in the B mixed division and Avarua in the C mixed division will no doubt return to defend their title however past tournaments have seen strong competition from all participating schools and tomorrow’s contest may see new winners.
More than 300 players, teachers and spectators are expected to turn up to the CIFA complex to watch an action packed and fun soccer games amongst junior players who will be determined to win the cup that is up for the taking.
The first game is scheduled to kick off at 8.45am and with the final games finishing at 2.00pm. The presentation of trophies will be held straight after the final games.
There will be food stalls available on the day with cold drinks and sausage sizzles so parents and supporters can refresh themselves while enjoying all the football games.
Good luck to all participating schools for your games tomorrow.

Related posts