> News > 2012 Rarotonga Football Season > Three times’ a charm for Tupapa Maraerenga

Three times’ a charm for Tupapa Maraerenga

Tupapa Maraerenga again placed themselves amongst footballing royalty to compete at the O League (Oceania) Preliminary Competition to be held sometime next year at a venue yet to be decided and confirmed by the Oceania Football Confederation Executive Committee later on this week.
Winning nine of their eleven matches in the round robin competition with a loss and a draw under their bout have rewarded Tupapa with
Rarotonga’s top-ranked side have indicated from the ‘get-go’ that they are the team to beat in Round Cup competition for 2012 with the third successive win of the tournament despite the one all draw against host Arorangi last Saturday.
“It was the result of a lot of hard work over the last three months work over the last three months,” Tupapa Maraerenga team manager John Paul Wilson says.
“The player’s commitment has proven their aspiration of not only representing their club but the country as whole to the up and coming O League tournament,” Wilson says.
The ‘black and white’ uniformed champions aren’t about to rest on their laurels though and will be looking to use the local derby as a stepping stone to further success at the 2013 O League Preliminary Tournament.
Tupapa Maraerenga have the capability to play at a higher level and their abilities are likely to shine through following their exuberant performance at the 2012 O League Preliminary tournament that was held in Tonga. The local side progressed through to the second stage of the tournament to face New Caledonia’s Monte Dore but were unable to proceed further to participate in the 2013 O League Tournament.
Club President along with the Executive Committee and players would like to thank their sponsors and supporters throughout the 2012 Football Season.
“I must say a massive thank you to all the players and to our supporters for your devotion for this year,” he said.
Tupapa Maraerenga Premier Men’s side was presented the round cup trophy held after the final whistle was blown at Raemaru Park.

Related posts