> News > FIFA Goal Programme > Historic moment for Aitutaki Football

Historic moment for Aitutaki Football

The ground breaking ceremony marked the commencement of the construction of the Aitutaki Football Association Headquarters which will house an education centre and administration headquarters which will be used to oversee the progress of the sport on the island of Aitutaki.
Cook Islands Football Association (CIFA) President Mr. Lee Harmon addressed the ceremony where he pointed out to all those present at the ceremony that the Education Centre will be the focal point for educating and up-skilling coaches, referees and administrators so they could be better, smarter and wiser in conducting their various duties.
Harmon also thanked the various Land Owners for leasing the piece of land to the Aitutaki Football Association and the Cook Islands Football Association.
“I would like to thank the Ui Ariki, Mayor of Aitutaki Mr. John Baxter, the President of the Aitutaki Football Association Tiraa Arere and his Executive Committee for all the hard work they have done over the years,” Harmon says.
“Cook Islands Football Association would like to thank and express our gratitude to FIFA and its President, Joseph S. Blatter for granting the funds to construct the project under the FIFA Goal Project Programme”, concluded Harmon.
The groundbreaking ceremony was well attended by around seventy people who witnessed this historic event last Friday on the island of Aitutaki.
The CIFA President also confirmed that this is just the first phase of a two phase project to be constructed on Aitutaki. Following the ground breaking ceremony, those who attended were treated to a big feast hosted by football clubs on the island.
To wrap up the historic event a Primary School Competition was held where prize money and equipments were distributed by CIFA President and his delegation at the end of the one day tournament held at the Araura Primary School.
Later on that day, the Knockout Cup Final competition for the island of Aitutaki in the Under 13 mix division, Under 17 boys, Open Women and Premier Men was held.

Related posts