> News > 2012 Rarotonga Football Season > Tenacious Arorangi Women crowned Champions

Tenacious Arorangi Women crowned Champions

The ladies from the west side of Rarotonga travelled to the CIFA complex in Matavera with their confidence levels at a high after a series of thrilling performances against Tupapa and Nikao Sokattak .
In its second year of sponsorship for Women’s football, CIPS Image & Copy Centre Managing Director, Colin Burns was privileged to present the Arorangi senior women’s team with the 2012 Rarotonga Round Cup Championship trophy Monday afternoon.
Colin Burns expressed his delight and saying that he is impressed with the result and achievement of the Arorangi women’s team.
“We are proud to sponsor this sporting activity for the second time this year. We are overwhelmed with the tenacity from not only this year’s winner, Arorangi but from all the women’s teams here on Rarotonga,” Colin Burns says.
Arorangi claimed the 2012 Rarotonga Football Round Cup ahead of Titikaveka by three points after the last round of games played in the weekend with a $2000 pay cheque.
Arorangi’s Senior Women’s coach/player Samantha Lockington expressed her congratulations to the players and gratitude to sponsor CIPS Image & Copy Centre managing director, Colin Burns for supporting the women’s football competition.
“I am extremely proud of our team’s achievement and we hope to continue to develop ourselves in the game of football and also to develop our young players for next season,” Samantha Lockington says.
“The round robin tournament was hard for us because we knew that this year’s teams are all gunning for the top spot honors. We stuck together through it all and now the rewards are a blessing,” Lockington says.
With Arorangi about to pull away from the pack after making an unbeaten start during the first round of games they knew they would have to take something from the remaining last round of matches to remain on top for the in the second round of games however, runners up Titikaveka and Tupapa Maraerenga managed to catch up.
History also tells that the Arorangi women’s team held the round cup trophy in 2007 and 2009.
The Knock-out Competition will commence today, Wednesday 28th November in the Under 17 Men’s division.

Related posts