> News > 2013 CIFA Championship > Tupapa crowned KO champs

Tupapa crowned KO champs

As expected the match lived up to its excitement and thrills right from the kick off until the final whistle. A cleverly placed first goal from Puaikura’s budding youngster Pekay Edwards after a free kick was awarded when an infringement was caused outside the eighteen yard area sending Puaikura loyal supporters into a frenzy.
As the match continued, both teams tried to create scoring opportunities and it came in the 31st minute through Tupapa’s striker Campbell Best who scored the equalizer heading into the half time break.
In the second spell Tupapa Maraerenga picked up where they left off in the first half, dominated ball possession and created several goal scoring opportunities with Campbell Best scoring his second and decisive goal in the 70th minute.
Tupapa had two opportunities to extend their lead in two separate occassions with penalties in the box however both shots were denied by Puaikura’s goalkeeper and the cross bar.
Prior to the final match of the day, the senior women’s finale between round cup champions Nikao Sokattak and Tupapa Maraerenga saw Sokattak defeat Tupapa by three goals to nil with goals scored by speedsters Tepaeru Toka and Teiti Tupuna. Sokattak’s third goal came through defender Jenifer Akavi with thunderous kick just shy of the half way mark to claim the KO trophy.
In the under 17 men’s division played on Friday round cup champions Puaikura defeated Nikao Sokattak, 2-1 with goals scored by Kimiora Samuel and James Strickland.
Puaikura and Avatiu displayed a strong contention during the under 14 boy’s clash and heading to a penalty shoot out following a nil all draw at the full time whistle.
Pauikura coming out as victors by one penalty goal over Avatiu with the final result five goals to four.
Undefeated during the round cup competition Tupapa’s under 14 girl’s division proved their dominance in their match against a tenacious Matavera team defeating them by four goals to one.
While the ever popular under 11 mix category Tupapa Maraerenga taking out the title honours for 2013 beating Nikao Sokattak by two goals to nil.
Final result for the 2013 CIFA KO Finals:
Premier Men Tupapa Maraerenga 2 – Puaikura 1
Senior Women Nikao Sokattak 3 – Tupapa Maraerenga 0
Under 17 Men Puaikura 2 – Nikao Sokattak 1
Under 14 Boys Puaikura 5 – Avatiu 4
Under 14 Girls Tupapa Maraerenga 4 – Matavera 1
Under 11 Mix Tupapa Maraerenga 2 – Nikao Sokattak 0

Related posts