> News > Pacific Games New Caledonia 2011 > Football national men’s squad named

Football national men’s squad named

The tournament will take place from 27th August to 10th September in New Caledonia.
The squad has a strong Rarotongan representation with twelve local players named. The remainder of the squad is composed from players currently performing in New Zealand and Australia.
“This prestigious tournament gives the Cook Islands players a chance to test their footballing skills against some of the top countries in the Pacific,” says Tillotson.
He went on to say the team will be looking to ‘punch above their weight’ in terms of competing against countries with much larger populations, stronger football culture and footballing resources.
“The local players have sustained their fitness levels after the ‘five-a-side’ season concluded by continuing with a demanding training schedule which includes technical and tactical work. A weekly eleven-a-side game is also programmed into their agenda.”
OFC originally planned to use the football tournaments at the Pacific Games in New Caledonia as part of the qualification process for the 2014 FIFA World Cup, as had been the case in Samoa four years earlier. But the participation of Guam, a member of the Asian Football Confederation, in the respective football tournaments has left the OFC Executive Committee with no other option but to scale back its involvement.
The men’s tournament at the XIV Pacific Games 2011 will therefore no longer act as the first stage of qualifying for the 2014 FIFA World Cup while the women’s event will likewise not be part of the 2012 Olympic Games qualification process.
The Pacific Games remains a premier event for the Pacific Island nations with eleven men’s and ten women’s football teams attending.
The Cook Islands National men’s was last in action in 2009 when they played two international test games against Tonga. On that occasion the teams proved to be closely matched with Cook Islands winning the series after gaining a win and a draw.
Squad members for the Pacific Games are: Tony Jamieson (NZ), Ngatokorua Elikana (Avatiu), John Pareanga (Matavera), Mii Joseph (Tupapa), Tahiri Elikana (Avatiu), Allan Boere (NZ), Nathan Tisam (Nikao), Branden Turepu (Tupapa), Campbell Best (Tupapa), Nicholas Funnell (Australia), Grover Harmon (Tupapa), Roger Manuel (Tupapa), Joseph Ngauora (Australia), Taylor Saghabi (Australia), Tuka Tisam (Nikao), Anoanga Tisam (Nikao), John Michael Quijano (Nikao) and Eugiene Tatuava (Tupapa).
The team is coached by Maurice Tillotson and managed by Paul Turepu.

Related posts