> News > Development Tour > “Football Development Tour to Tahiti for National Women’s team”

“Football Development Tour to Tahiti for National Women’s team”

The Cook Islands National Women’s Development team will tour Tahiti from the 7th – 14th July 2018 in preparation for the 11th edition of the Oceania Football Confederation Women’s Nations Cup scheduled to take place in New Caledonia from the 18th November to 1st December 2018.


 The Cook Islands Women’s team will spend a week in Tahiti and will play a couple of football matches against the Tahiti National Women’s team.

The Cook Islands Women’s Head Coach, Jason Stephens has named his squad for the forthcoming football friendlies in Tahiti and he is looking forward to working with the talented group, many of whom are only sixteen years of age.

“This tour provides an excellent opportunity to bed players in and to give them a taste of what overseas competition football feels like,” says Stephens.

“We have chosen a real young squad, ten players of which are sixteen years of age, couple more under nineteen years and a few older heads. A few are new to the National set up.”

“These two games will show if the players chosen belong at this level or above – players know that ultimately they are playing for places for November.”

The Cook Islands National Women’s team will take on the Tahiti National Women’s side in their first meet on Tuesday 10th July 2018 with the match kicking off at 6:00pm and is forecasted to be an exciting match for both teams.  The second match will be played on Friday 13th July 2018 at 6:30pm

There will be 11 participating nations at the OFC Women’s Nations Cup and the winner of the competition will qualify for the FIFA 2019 Women’s World Cup and the Olympic Football Tournament in Tokyo in 2020.

 The official draw for the OFC Women’s Nations Cup took place at the OFC headquarters in Auckland, New Zealand, revealing the qualifying round in Fiji, to the finals in New Zealand.

The first stage of the competition will begin in August when Fiji, American Samoa and Vanuatu will meet for the last available spot in the group stage. The winner will join Tonga, the Cook Islands and the reigning New Zealand champions in Group B.

Group A consists of New Caledonia, Samoa, Papua New Guinea and Tahiti.


Related posts