Tupapa 2011 Champions

Takuvaine, Titikaveka, Arorangi, Matavea, Avatiu, Tupapa Maraerenga and Nikao Sokattak who were vying for the top spot in the competition in all five categories, Premier Men, Senior Women, Under 17 Men, Under 14 Girls and Under 14 Boys.
After fourteen football matches played in the 2011 Rarotonga Football Season, Tupapa Maraerenga Premier Men’s team have claimed and retained the Lotto Round Cup Championship much to the delight of the players and club management.
With one game in hand Tupapa required a win and three points in their last game to edge out Nikao Sokattak who followed close behind on twenty nine points. Third place getters Takuvaine dug deep to catch up to the leaders, over taking Titikaveka and Arorangi from being fifth place at the later stages of the round cup competition.
“It has been a close competition right to the end however the support from our club has helped us to achieve this success”, says Tony Jamieson, Tupapa’s goal keeper.
According to Tupapa Maraerenga Club President John Paul Wilson, “supporting players throughout the competition is important, it keeps the vibe and mood alive which I believe motivates them to perform and win games”.
“I would like to congratulate our players not only from our team but from the other participating clubs for a good contest throughout the round cup competition and best of luck for the Knock-out competition this weekend”, says Wilson.
Following their Premier Men’s side success, the Tupapa Maraerenga Senior Women’s team has also taken out the inaugural CIPS Image & Copy Centre with thirty points in front of Arorangi who have achieved twenty seven points for their efforts while Nikao Sokattak will take third place on twenty points.
Both Tupapa and Arorangi displayed ball skills and discipline right through the competition going head to head in the their last outing however Tupapa came out victorious adding the three points and win over Arorangi to take the top honors.
The Knock-out Cup Competition will kick off this weekend with first round eliminations to take place at the Matavera School grounds and CIFA complex.

Related posts