National Squad Set for Tonga

The Cook Islands based players and officials from Rarotonga will stay in New Zealand for five days and will be joined by our contingent from New Zealand and the three Australian players. They will play one warm up match in Auckland before departing on the 28th of August for Tonga.
The Cook Islands will be playing three matches, against the host nation Tonga, favourites Samoa and American Samoa in the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Qualifiers – OFC Stage 1 tournament and the team with the most points will progress to Stage 2.
“It’s going to be an exciting tournament with the teams we are playing against. We will not be taking any of the teams lightly as we know that they are prepared to face us. Our boys have trained over the past few months” said Cook Islands Football Association Technical Director and National Men’s Coach Drew Sherman.
“The players are committed. It is a young team with a few key experienced players returning to represent the Cook Islands. What is important to us is what happens on the pitch and with this team I am confident that they will do us proud.”
The Cook Islands will play the opening match on August 31st with host country Tonga followed by Samoa and American Samoa. One of the teams, American Samoa, has spent three weeks in Seattle, USA as part of their preparations for Tonga.
“We will play the opening match with the host Tonga, we know what we need to do and are looking forward to the tournament in Tonga” continues Sherman.
You can follow the team’s progress on Cook Islands Football Association’s Facebook page
The 2015 Cook Islands National Team is as follows:
Campbell Best (Tupapa Maraerenga), Mii Joseph(Tupapa Maraerenga), Nathan Tisam (Avatiu), Paavo Mustonen (Tupapa Maraerenga), Tahiri Elikana (Avatiu), Sunai Joseph (Tupapa Maraerenga), Grover Harmon (Yagoona Lions), Taylor Saghabi (West Ryde Rovers) and Jake Stuart (West Ryde Rovers), Emiel Burrow (Oratia United), Alex McGregor (Eastern Suburbs), Harlem Simiona (Ngongotaha), Josh Karika (Manukau City), Junior Lupena (Manukau City), Gichin Fuhiniu (Manukau City), Ishak Mohammed (Manukau City), Legend Pareta (Metro), Tyrell Baringer-Tahiri (Southern United), Arus Sem (Western Springs).
Head Coach – Drew Sherman, Support Staff – Tuka Tisam, Tom Fawdry, Richard Anderson, Manager- John Tarip0, Assistant Manager John-Paul Wilson and Physio- Simon Bish.
Extra Information
CIFA Media and Marketing Officer
P: +682 28980 (ext.206)
F: +682 28981
W: E:

Related posts